Note to Self: I Have An Opinion…or Several

One of the things I’ve learned in doing my work is that the other parts of yourself have opinions and those opinions are often different from “yours”. I split my self into Me, My Self and I. Usually part of you, in the case “Me”, is without an opinion most of the time. Self is the younger version of me and I am the adult me, helping the younger me grow up and meld with me. Are you still with me?

Eventually, I’m told, Self will meld with I and Me is already there.

I learned that Self likes pink. I do not. I’m more of a primary color girl. I like bling, shiny objects and such. Self does too only she leans, though lesser so lately, toward sequins where I am more “gemmy” or, I guess, “blingy”. I also prefer blues and teals and red.

That’s usually how I figure out where things are coming from and what’s authentic. It’s a learning process.

So yesterday I ended up in a jewelry store looking at eternity bands. From me, to me, with love. Self does NOT like the mitered edge. Shiny, please. Not thin. but not too wide. 1 row wide. It doesn’t necessarily need to be a full eternity band as long as the diamonds go down each side pretty far. I looked at lots of rings so trying to remember all the details, it’s a mosh pit of details. At the time, though, I was asking aloud, “Self, what do you not/like about this?”

I can tell the difference and I’ve learned that if it’s not a “full body yes”, it’s a “no”. End of conversation. I will not settle.

About spawtyspice

I was once a victim of a horrible act. Now, I'm a thriver, and sharing my experiences with Spartan Racing, training, spiritual awakening, food, yoga, being a fur mom, intuitive and whatever else strikes my fancy! Faith, family, fun! Blessed beyond compare! Won't you join me?
This entry was posted in personal growth, spiritual growth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

