Going It Alone: My 1st 5K and Accidental Lessons on Control

I completed my 1st 5K yesterday. The Color Vibe, which was QUITE colorful. Got color in my eyes and my right ear. I was worried about getting up (I suck at mornings!), getting there on time, letting people who wanted to come see me finish know when I started, what time I’d finish, along with a few other things.

I realize I control me, my actions and reactions. That’s it. The policeman who were re-directing traffic so my friend couldn’t find a place to park to come see me? No. The course which was on a working horse farm? No. The weather? No. The people tearing open color packets and throwing them everywhere? No. The terrain of the course and the random horse manure piles? No. When I started? No. When I finished? No. Well, sort of but if you’d been there, the “no” would make more sense.

So I ran/walked it. I did 5K, or 3.2 miles, in under 35 minutes. I’m proud of myself for finishing it. 1/2 way through it, well after the 1 MILE marker, I realized that I was out of my comfort zone…and had been for months. I haven’t “seen the shore” in a really long time, maybe 6 months, and I’m totally OK with that.

Is it scary? Yes. Is it exhilarating? If you’re able to respond to it from a place of love for self and you’re able to “hold your own hand”, yes. If not, it might get scary. Actually, it will be scary. You know where you’re at in the healing/inner work/self-love process based on  your response. If you know literally where you’re at physically, where you’re going physically and you have a marked course (“Racers ^”), you can take a deep breath and chillax (chill/relax).

I walked the parts that were hole pocked and ran the flatter, more predictable terrain. I also ran through the “color check points. The color was in boxes and squirt bottles, on both sides so you were getting color on you either way.

I am NOT a runner but trying to combine cardio with strength to lean out some and having goals, I like goals. So the running training will continue tomorrow. But I digress.

So, I finished the race. My friend sent me a text saying she couldn’t park. Note to self for next year: There is overflow parking…make a note of it and tell your friends. Facebooked my other friend….and my niece was having a “I feel like acting my age” kind of day so they were at home. Bummer, but totally OK.

SO, I drank my water, had someone take “after” photos of me then hopped into my car and drove home for a hot shower/scrub down and food.

As I said, I’ll be doing it next year, hopefully with a boyfriend and a bunch of friends. There are 2 more color runs this year and the night Electric run. I plan to run all of them, hopefully with friends as that makes it more fun. This one was about me doing something for me. I’m really proud of myself for doing it.

So, that brings me to my question: Have you done something outside your comfort zone or do you want to do something outside your comfort zone? Leave a comment! I’d love to hear from you!

About spawtyspice

I was once a victim of a horrible act. Now, I'm a thriver, and sharing my experiences with Spartan Racing, training, spiritual awakening, food, yoga, being a fur mom, intuitive and whatever else strikes my fancy! Faith, family, fun! Blessed beyond compare! Won't you join me?
This entry was posted in change, inner work, personal growth and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

