Trip Post Mortem

Where do I even start? Flights were good. I love Southwest!

Got to see family. You don’t oft realize how large your family actually has grown until you’re trying to take group photos and fit everybody in a small space, such as a staircase. And we were missing grandchildren and great grandchildren but it was pretty great except for the ride up from hell. Not. Even. Kidding. IL is one of the most heavily taxed states in the union-the should consider using some of those revenues to fix the road because O-M-G! I was under the weather for the 1st 24 hours I was there because of it. As in, I passed on chocolate deserts. Yeah, that bad. (If you know me, you’re having an “OMG, I’m so sorry!” moment…but it passed.

One of the toughest things about the trip was actual age hitting me. Not mine. My grandma. She’ll be 90 in August and for the very 1st time in my life, she didn’t have her usual pep. She was giving the kids, grandkids and great grandkids various things in her home. Asking me if I wanted this or that. I would love both this and that. I just don’t have use for either this or that so no, not taking it, but thank you.

So, while we were talking about I don’t know what, she was dozing, resting her eyes, she said. Uh-huh. She has to have oxygen at night. She’s not moving around like she once did and tires very easily. Alas, she is 90. We said our goodbyes after 5 days. She seemed to have a great time rocking her newest great grandchild to sleep. Whatever makes her happy and keeps her here.

Yes, I am aware that there will be a day when I get that call from my mom. She won’t really be able to talk. But she’ll ask me where I am, am I sitting down? And then she’ll tell me. It’s funny how I can say of Bob Hope, Phyllis Diller and other older people to whom I am not attached “they had a good life!” but when it comes to my Grandma, yeah, not so much.

It’s been tough coming back. Lots of catching up to do. Missed dance class on Sunday, work didn’t get done, I was without internet from about 1:30PM Monday until about 1AM Tuesday. My baby/house/plant sitter was fantastic, though! There is that.

I’m glad I live where I live. A few other, separate posts coming. Stay tuned.

About spawtyspice

I was once a victim of a horrible act. Now, I'm a thriver, and sharing my experiences with Spartan Racing, training, spiritual awakening, food, yoga, being a fur mom, intuitive and whatever else strikes my fancy! Faith, family, fun! Blessed beyond compare! Won't you join me?
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

