Story Time

Today is week 4 of the 8 weeks of group. It was also story day. We all have one. My heart was broken. Again.

I realize my rape was no my fault. Nobody’s rape is their fault. Every story is different. Some people, like me, were in relationships with their rapists; others were not. More stuff came up.

I know for sure that I am meant to coach other rape and sexual assault survivors…and I know that I need to be stronger than I am now. I have to be able to hear it, feel for them, suggest a path and let it go.

I realized listening to the stories the other brave, beautiful women shared that there’s a lot of sadness, anger, shame, grief and general negativity. I am here to heal that.

I was thinking about everything the other day and I thought, “Oh my God! This is a HUGE job and seriously, you’re going to be booked…it’s going to be insane…” I was overwhelmed and then I had a moment where I heard me say, “so let’s not do it…that way nobody gets hurt or disappointed.”

Needless to say, I didn’t even give that a second thought. I am needed. My healing journey and my helping hand and my story are so needed it’s kind of sad. But the more I think about helping and serving and moving people to a place of healing and that being the wellspring of my philanthropic dreams, the more excited I get.

Rape and sexual assault are here. They happen to men, women and children daily throughout this country and this world. If I can help others heal, it’s worth it.

Story Time was a big lesson in “you’re close, but you’re not done yet!” It was a blessing and a lesson in humility. And a heartbreaking lesson at that.

 

 

About spawtyspice

I was once a victim of a horrible act. Now, I'm a thriver, and sharing my experiences with Spartan Racing, training, spiritual awakening, food, yoga, being a fur mom, intuitive and whatever else strikes my fancy! Faith, family, fun! Blessed beyond compare! Won't you join me?
This entry was posted in calling, change, inner work, personal growth, purpose, spiritual growth, therapy and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Story Time

  1. ribbons16 says:

    I definitely relate. I’ve taken my experience and started sharing story in many different facets, whether it be through one on one or speaking to a crowd. Doing that is what makes my heart beat inside my chest; knowing that somehow I can help someone on their journey to healing.

Leave a Reply

