BIG Steps…and I’m So Proud!

My 5oth Post! Yay me!

So, I took a one-night trip by myself, out of my comfort zone, to the gorgeous, stunning, beautiful mountains in western NC! I have lived in this beautiful state for 10 years and have never been…so I went and OMG…seriously, I can’t wait to go back!

Driving away from the town I was staying in, away from the gorgeous forest I had just come from, I felt the familiar heart tug I get every time I get on a plane in Boston to come back home…Boston is my home town…the town I left, I’m not sure yet WHY the tug was there but I noticed it. So we’ll see what that’s about.

While I was there, I ordered dinner from a little restaurant that came highly recommended by a friend. It was awesome food…but I got lost going there. I overthought simple directions I’d written down and Mapquested/Google mapped myself. I was laughing at myself, driving around “lost” in this super cute little town. I was freaking out, I was laughing. I knew exactly where I was, I just overshot by roughly a block. I figured it out, parked, got my food, and went back to the hotel and indulged! I’m proud of me for getting myself where I needed to go without a meltdown. No need of one but old me would have had a mini-meltdown…wait, what the hell am I saying? Old me wouldn’t have taken this trip in the 1st freakin’ place!

So, today, wow…it seems so odd saying that. LOL But I digress. Today, I planned to go to 4 different waterfalls. Again, based on fabulous recommendations from an equally fabulous person.

So I drove into the national forest and holy crap…you’re surrounded by beautiful, stunning, breathtaking scenery the whole way through. I got to see everything but wildlife! Beautiful creeks, mini waterfalls, rivers, trees and leaves of every color, one really lovely waterfall and then a smaller one. I walked almost 3/4 mile each way to the 2nd waterfall. By myself. And without fear. Super proud of me. Now, if you’re following my blog, you know part of why that’s huge, too. As a survivor, I wasn’t the least bit afraid of being myself, without cell communication, on my own. I was totally calm and OK with it!

I somehow managed to get turned around and off course so ended up coming back sooner than anticipated and missing the other waterfalls but it’s not like they’re going anywhere!

Between taking the trip to begin with, driving more than 4 hours each way, hiking on my own, laughing at getting lost…and trusting my Self and someone else and KNOWING that I was going to be great, I’m really not sure which of those things I most proud of!

Honestly, I can’t wait to do it again and will be trying to coordinate to have my own tour guide next go round. But I had a great time so there’s that!

About spawtyspice

I was once a victim of a horrible act. Now, I'm a thriver, and sharing my experiences with Spartan Racing, training, spiritual awakening, food, yoga, being a fur mom, intuitive and whatever else strikes my fancy! Faith, family, fun! Blessed beyond compare! Won't you join me?
This entry was posted in change, inner work, personal growth, spiritual growth and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

