Self-Check In

I’ve been pretty in tune with myself for quite awhile now. I can usually tell when what I now know as my Inner Mean Girl(s) is active versus my Inner Wisdom. One throws me into chaos and upset and freak out and negative energy while the other takes me into comfort, calm stress-free land.

Something I’ve gotten good at, and thought I’d share, is what to do when you’re triggered.

Brief story: Once upon a time, I was set off easily. Over stupid crap. Or, maybe insignificant events is better. People cutting me off when we’re all going to or leaving the same place (a hockey game for example). I would get pissy and demonstrative and so forth. Now? Now, I just turn up the radio or catch up with whoever I’m with if I’m driving with someone. We’ll all get in or out, parked or home, eventually. In the meantime, I’m chillaxed.

That was a lot of hard work, a lot of letting go, a lot of time spent ‘unpacking my bags’ as it were. Totally, 500% worth it, by the way.

So now, when something triggers me, I look at it as a chance to feel, heal and/or deal with something, or let go of something. Or, at the very least, as feeling, healing, dealing and letting go are not always doable in the moment, or necessary, acknowledge what’s being triggered. An internal “who goes there?” If you will.

My first thought is always, “what is it?” Followed closely by, “whose is it?” Sometimes it’s not mine and therefore gets ‘returned to sender with consciousness attached.’

When something bugs me, I find myself trying to figure out what it is, and then trying to feel, deal and heal immediately, if possible. If’ I’m where I can journal, I do. If’ I’m not, I try to work through it internally. Sometimes, I just get focused and breathe. Sometimes a good run clears things up.

I heard someone say that once you really deal with it, it’s healed and gone and I find that to be true.

So, the next time you’re upset by or about something, see if you can source it. Don’t get me wrong, there are absolutely times when we have a right to be angry, sad, or the myriad of other feelings that come on when we’ve been hurt, betrayed or otherwise wronged. But I found that while I had a right to be angry, I was often overreacting and being triggered. Resolving old stuff helps you deal differently with situations and helps you heal in the process.

So the next time you’re upset, a quick self-check in may be all you need to see what it is and how you can fix it and move on with your day! Something to think about.

About spawtyspice

I was once a victim of a horrible act. Now, I'm a thriver, and sharing my experiences with Spartan Racing, training, spiritual awakening, food, yoga, being a fur mom, intuitive and whatever else strikes my fancy! Faith, family, fun! Blessed beyond compare! Won't you join me?
This entry was posted in change, inner work, personal growth, spiritual growth and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

