Things I Learned on My Christmas Facation

First, you read right. It’s a ‘facation.’ A vacation with or to see family is a facation.

Secondly, my favorite two gifts were seeing my sister-friend and my Gramma, who’s 90.

Third, sometimes a change of scenery is just what is needed to realize how much you’ve changed for the better, how far you’ve come and WHY you live where you live and WHY that’s exactly the right place for you!

More things I learned. I am smaller than I thought I was. I ran and did my burpees even while I was on facation. De-icing doesn’t scare me like it use to.

Christmas at Gramma’s isn’t anymore and I have to learn to accept it. If Christmas was the last time I see my Gramma alive, I’m OK with that. I love her and it was a good visit and she’s lived a pretty great 90 years, with a trail of great kids, grand kids and great grand kids who love her so much. That said, I really hope and pray that she’s around to see me get married to an amazing man but I also realize that isn’t in my control.

I really love the person I’ve become and I’m really proud of me. I’m not where I want to be but I’m damn sure not where  I was a year ago and THAT is fabulous news!

I am stronger, smarter, sexier, cuter, tougher, better, more compassionate than I give myself credit for.

I am a good writer on the fly. I’m a better writer when I take the time to hand write a draft…then again, that’s pretty much the only kind I can write nowadays.

I have the power and the story to help women heal their rape experiences so they can live the life they deserve and I’ll be making that happen in 2014.

“Daring Greatly” by Brene Brown is a fantastic book. I’m on my 3rd read of it. Uh-mazing!

My cold limit is about 25*. Just FYI. I like snow when I can ski in it then leave. Not a fan of driving in it.

Letting go and just letting things be beats the hell out of trying to control them.

Peanut butter balls are awesome!

Anything with meringue is awesome! Anything with chocolate is awesome.

There will never be a facation like this one ever again and I’m OK with that.

Yes, this is totally random. And I’m OK with that, too!! More movin’ and shakin’ and changin’ is comin’ in 2014! 🙂

About spawtyspice

I was once a victim of a horrible act. Now, I'm a thriver, and sharing my experiences with Spartan Racing, training, spiritual awakening, food, yoga, being a fur mom, intuitive and whatever else strikes my fancy! Faith, family, fun! Blessed beyond compare! Won't you join me?
This entry was posted in change, Family, personal growth, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

