Day 3 Challenge: Sharing Healing Resources #31dbc

Last Thursday, I had my “last” appointment with Marlo, my awesome counselor at InterAct. At my last appointment, I’d realized after I left that we were close, I was close to having healed my rape to where the tears, the anger, the last dregs of emotion were gone.

On Thursday, we decided I was done, healed to where I can leave the next, give that hour of Marlo’s time to someone else who’s still on their journey to healing. I admit it. I cried. It made me sad. I wasn’t sure if I was ready. But then, I realized I was. It’s time to live my life, my ‘secret’ no longer a secret.

I’m no longer a helpless victim. I’m not even a survivor any longer.  I’m a thriver. My rape happened to me but it doesn’t define my life. It’s time for me to live my fullest, best life. When I’m able to share my story and help others heal, I will do that.

Another excellent resource for victims of rape, sexual assault and domestic violence is RAINN.

I had someone ask me what took me so long as my rape happened 11 years ago. I had to admit it happened and most of those 11 years I was in denial. It was no big deal, it happened, I was fine. Riiiight!

Truthfully, I deserve a happy, healthy life and love. I deserve joy, prosperity and abundance. We all do. I deserved to heal and I’m well on my way!

The first step was admitting it happened.

Do you have a secret? Are you ready to tell someone so you can start to heal and live the life you deserve?

About spawtyspice

I was once a victim of a horrible act. Now, I'm a thriver, and sharing my experiences with Spartan Racing, training, spiritual awakening, food, yoga, being a fur mom, intuitive and whatever else strikes my fancy! Faith, family, fun! Blessed beyond compare! Won't you join me?
This entry was posted in inner work, rape, rape survivor, sexual assault, therapy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

