Day 15 Challenge: The First Time #31dbc

We all have firsts as we grow up and grow into the person we’re meant to be. When you have a ‘secret’ and you’re able to admit whatever it is aloud, it’s a big deal. o

When you’re able to finally tell someone, anyone, outside of your self, it’s an even bigger deal.

Then you get braver and admit it among a small group. There may be tears or perhaps there is just relief. For me, it was both.

I have been approached to tell my story for the first time in public and I’ve agreed to do it. I’m a little bit nervous but I also feel like I have to start somewhere. So, at the end of April, I get to be brave and share my story.

I’m happy to help spread the word and if being vulnerable helps accomplish that, if one person is able to tell someone it happened to them and then find the strength and support to heal, that’s enough for me.

Am I scared to admit aloud in front of strangers? To say I was date raped? I am. But I’ll be OK. It’s part of my story. I’m planning to invite a few friends to come and support me.

Actually, I’ll be more than OK. It’ll be a relief to have that ‘first’ out of the way!

 

About spawtyspice

I was once a victim of a horrible act. Now, I'm a thriver, and sharing my experiences with Spartan Racing, training, spiritual awakening, food, yoga, being a fur mom, intuitive and whatever else strikes my fancy! Faith, family, fun! Blessed beyond compare! Won't you join me?
This entry was posted in change, personal growth, rape, rape survivor, sexual assault and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 15 Challenge: The First Time #31dbc

  1. Debbie says:

    So raw and vulnerable, I am in awe!

  2. One of the greatest things I have learned is the people that are healed and can go forward to their life purposes simply by our struggles. It is going to help others in your sharing.

Leave a Reply

