Day 19 Challenge: Great Expectations #31dbc

I am volunteering Saturday. I am driving almost 3 hours, volunteering for 9 hours…and then driving 3 hours back home. I know why I’m going:

1) Volunteering is a great way to meet new people.

2) Gets me OUT of my comfort zone.

3) I get to run a future race for FREE!

4) Did I mention it gets me out of my comfort zone?

So, I was sharing with a friend this evening that I’ll be doing this this weekend. I then shared that I have a tendency to get worked up and nervous and start conjuring in my mind every possible scenario.

She admitted to be the same way. I then said that I reminded myself of the firsts for me in the last 6 years or so and how every time I did one of them, it turned out well, I met great new people, had fun and it all turned out to be fine.

We then talked about expectations. I said, “I don’t really have any.” OK, I do. I expect a smooth drive Saturday morning as the weather forecast is sunny and 73*, I expect to meet lots of great new people, I expect to volunteer and I expect to have fun. That’s it.

Oh, and I expect to drive home 1/2 hour earlier than I thought I was going to be as the shift ends before I thought it did. Bonus.

Otherwise, no expectations. I’m just open to the experience! And Sunday, I expect to be home relaxing.

Am I nervous? Of course! It’s a new experience, it’s a new drive but I’m also excited to get out of my comfort zone.

Have you tried anything new or step out of your comfort zone lately?

About spawtyspice

I was once a victim of a horrible act. Now, I'm a thriver, and sharing my experiences with Spartan Racing, training, spiritual awakening, food, yoga, being a fur mom, intuitive and whatever else strikes my fancy! Faith, family, fun! Blessed beyond compare! Won't you join me?
This entry was posted in change and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

