Day 22 Challenge: Do You Hear What I Hear? #31dbc

I have a confession. I once hated quiet. I had music on all the time. I had the TV on or I was in noisy places. I thought I just loved sound. I’ve since learned that while I do love sound, crowds cheering, the T screeching in Boston, the crack of a bat sending a ball into the stands, percussion and a great Kenny Chesney tune, among others, for a very long time, I used sounds of any kind to drown out the voices.

To drown out the truth! To drown out my truth.

I’ve also learned that when you really start listening to the voice(s) in your head and heart, it’s not as bad as you thought it would be. In fact, while your head usually just needs to throw up emotionally all over and get it over with already, your heart wants to tell you your truth.

Sometimes your truth is something simple like, “You’re enough, right here, right now!” and sometimes, it’s more complicated, such as, “That thing/person/situation you so desire, it’s a timing issue. Let it go and let God.”

I have heard people ask, “How do I know what’s my heart and what’s not?” Your heart will generally feel light but if it’s telling you something heavy, it’ll hurt and likely have you in tears in the moment but you’ll feel relief when and if you’re willing to acknowledge it.

So, has your heart or your head shared any interesting tidbits with you of late?

About spawtyspice

I was once a victim of a horrible act. Now, I'm a thriver, and sharing my experiences with Spartan Racing, training, spiritual awakening, food, yoga, being a fur mom, intuitive and whatever else strikes my fancy! Faith, family, fun! Blessed beyond compare! Won't you join me?
This entry was posted in change, personal growth, spiritual growth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 22 Challenge: Do You Hear What I Hear? #31dbc

  1. kraes says:

    You’re right that it’s so easy to allow noise to distract you from your inner voice or that which comes from outside source. Actually, I am hearing a lot more lately, as I’ve started listening in a deeper way. I think this came about when I released some trapped emotions.

    • spawtyspice says:

      I’m finding the same thing. The more I let go and release, the more I hear. Looking forward to the day when there is nothing left to let go of…I think I’m pretty close after this morning’s exercise, and I can just hear awesomeness.

      Thank you for reading and commenting. I appreciate you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

