How Running a Spartan Race Can Change Your Life

 

Roughly 2 weeks ago, a friend of mine in one of my Facebook groups posted that she was possibly getting time off from work to run the DC Spartan Race Sprint. I was thinking about it but iffy for a variety of reasons. So on Tuesday of that week, I gave it to God. I literally said aloud, “If this is meant to happen, show me the way. Make it happen.” Within 48 hours, I had another Facebook friend urging me on, I signed up to race in the morning and volunteer in the afternoon, I had a place to stay and the money to do it. I was blown away.

Friday the 25th I drove to DC, picked up my friend at BWI then we drove to the hotel, getting lost along the way. I met more new friends, was up way too late, got up at 5:30AM and we got dressed and raced at 8:45 AM.

As I ran the course with my team, facing fears, doing a few burpees along the way, encouraging and being encouraged, I realize in retrospect that I left most of the old me on that course. The me that beat the holy hell out of me for failing the rope climb when I’d never done it before in my life. Never mind how completely illogical it is, I was so angry with myself I sobbed doing the burpees. It’s not a bad thing, it’s a get-this-crap-out-of-my-body-thing. I expected tears. I expected my inner demons to come out to play at some point and they did. And I let them because I had decided 2 things:

1) I was going to finish the course no matter what.

2) I was going to let whatever emotions came up, come up. I needed to leave it on the course.

I had my happy moments, my terrified moments, my “I can’t do this!” moments and, as I said, my breakdown moments. I let myself have all of them because sometimes the only way to deal with something is to go through it, as tough as that may be. It’s not optional, it’s necessary.

I ran with an amazing team of people, clear obstacles I didn’t think I could do, proved to myself that I’m stronger and tougher than I knew anything about.

I missed 2 of 15 obstacles, crossed the finish line with my team and earned the first of many medals. I’m glad I didn’t wait til next year. I wasn’t ready but that’s life. Sometimes stuff happens that you don’t think you’re ready for. You just do your best.

Turns out, the race seems to have been the catalyst for more life altering stuff. But that’s another post. I finished my first Spartan Race and I can’t wait to do it again!!

 

About spawtyspice

I was once a victim of a horrible act. Now, I'm a thriver, and sharing my experiences with Spartan Racing, training, spiritual awakening, food, yoga, being a fur mom, intuitive and whatever else strikes my fancy! Faith, family, fun! Blessed beyond compare! Won't you join me?
This entry was posted in 5K, challenge, personal growth and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

