What Installing a Printer Taught Me About Letting Go!

Several weeks back I had a client ask if we could install a printer on his desktop computer. I told him I thought we could, gathered the components I’d need to install a printer on a machine with an 18-pin female port. Got as much stuff off the machine as possible to make room for the driver package and the install and finally tried to install it. The machine was not sensing the connection. So I tried to install the other, more modern printer. Same problem. I tried everything I could think of to no avail. Finally, I had to deliver the news: sorry, but you’re not getting a printer on this machine.

He thanked me for trying and that was that. I was done. I surrendered. There would be no printer on this 20 year old machine. Then I went in again while he was at lunch and, for giggles essentially, with nothing to lose, tried to install it wirelessly. I expected nothing but it was thinking…and then, suddenly, SUCCESS! I had installed the printer, the better of the two, on his very old 512MB computer. I bravely printed a test page. It worked. When he got back, I told him that we had a printer installed on the computer. He was quite pleased, as was I!

So, why am I telling you this? And what does a printer installation initially gone amok have to do with letting go?

I was resigned and bummed, having tried everything, or so I thought. So I let go of “success” because I thought there was to be none. And then, there was!

I’ve read that the moment when you are resigned, when you surrender, when you let go…that’s the moment when the magic happens. “The dawn will come when you let go…”

I’ve “tried” repeatedly to “let go” of many things in my personal life that I just can’t seem to convince my Inner Mean Girls (IMGs)/ego to be brave, trust and let go of. And then this happens.

Granted, I have no emotional attachment to the printer, unlike my personal life. But in that moment, I realized the truth of it. That when I was done, when there was no printer to be had on this computer, when I resigned myself to the impossibility of it, that’s when it happened.

letgo

Without trying to, I proved to my ego that it’s true, it’s safe to let go and that I can trust that whatever comes after the letting go is far better than what’s in the here and now. Powerful stuff.

I have looked high and low, to people I admire greatly, looking for a step-by-step “how to let go” guide and try as I might, even when I diligently followed the steps, couldn’t let seem to do it.  Then, without trying or meaning to, I did it. I let go! So, if you’re reading this, know that when you’re ready, you’ll let go on your own time, space and terms. And THAT is when things will start to transform!

Have you accidentally done something similar? Care to share?

About spawtyspice

I was once a victim of a horrible act. Now, I'm a thriver, and sharing my experiences with Spartan Racing, training, spiritual awakening, food, yoga, being a fur mom, intuitive and whatever else strikes my fancy! Faith, family, fun! Blessed beyond compare! Won't you join me?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

