Awakening…Change Your Beliefs, Change Your Life

The truth is, since my Gramma’s passing, I’ve not had much of an appetite. My Herbalife shake in the morning with pb, oats, flax/chia, banana and 1 cup almond milk has been my breakfast. Water and a little fruit and 1 real meal has been my diet since I returned to Raleigh. Yes, I am aware that it’s not healthy.

Last evening a friend posted about trying veganism on for size. He’s a health and fitness coach who does pretty in-depth research on things. Always makes for interesting conversation. At any rate, I commented saying, in summary, that I don’t think I could do it because I really enjoy turkey, fish, chicken, etc.  quite a lot, thank you but that the meal he’d prepped and posted a photo of looked quite yummy. Because it did. Did I mention he’s also a great cook?

Anyway, I had to go to the grocery store and it occurred to me that it was a belief that I couldn’t do the vegan thing, even on a trial basis, as opposed to a fact.

Then I did a quick inventory of the other “beliefs” I’ve held that I know aren’t true because I’ve proven them wrong or changed my mind and done something else. Let’s see, I’ve given up Diet Coke (used to drink maybe 3 cans/day), see my abs, done killer workouts, nailed the spear throw and the rope climb, completed Spartan Races this year (while in CFS/fibro regression – meaning I start exhausted and w/almost no training because existing is exhausting right now!) that last year were but a dream and that was before regression set in. I have driven by myself for hours on end, stayed with strangers (who became friends), run races and distances I’ve only ever dreamed of, grown to love avocados and cut way back on carbs and sugar, among other things. All the “I could never…” beliefs are pretty much busted through.

So, as I’m examining beliefs and truths, I’m resetting some, making new decisions and re-setting my course for the last of 2015 and 2016, too!

What are some of your beliefs you busted through? How did you do it?

About spawtyspice

I was once a victim of a horrible act. Now, I'm a thriver, and sharing my experiences with Spartan Racing, training, spiritual awakening, food, yoga, being a fur mom, intuitive and whatever else strikes my fancy! Faith, family, fun! Blessed beyond compare! Won't you join me?
This entry was posted in challenge, change and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

